© Copyright Wine & Spirit Education Trust and IWSC 2019 

Unearthing the industry's 
up-and-coming talent

‘The Future 50’ Awards have been created by the Wine & Spirit Education Trust (WSET) and International Wine & Spirit Competition (IWSC) as a unique, global platform to champion the young people shaping the future of our industry. 

Winners will have the distinction of being named one of ‘The Future 50’ leaders of our industry gaining high-profile, global exposure for their achievements. The Future 50 will be supported by a comprehensive promotional programme including in a special issue magazine.

 We are calling on professionals across the industry to nominate themselves or a colleague to help identify the 50 exceptional individuals who will become 'The Future 50'.

Pedro Ballesteros MW, DipWSET

Regional Advisory Panel

Julien Boulard DipWSET

Ferran Centelles DipWSET

Ian Dai 

Nova Cadamatre MW, DipWSET

Maggie Campbell DipWSET

Jo Burzynska DipWSET

Supporting our judges is our regional advisory panel, a distinguished group of industry experts from across the globe who will provide local knowledge and insight.

Cameron Douglas MS

Julie Dupouy DipWSET

Gill Gordon-Smith

Sonal Holland 

Cathy Marston DipWSET

Caro Maurer 

Thiago Mendes DipWSET

Lendl Mijnhijmer DipWSET

Arthur Nagele

Steve Notman

Michelle Paris DipWSET

Andrea Pritzker MW, DipWSET

Scott Rosenbaum DipWSET

Debra Meiburg MW

Amanda Yallop DipWSET

Angus Winchester

James Tidwell 

Kellie Thorn

Ying Tan MW

Michèle Shah


The Future 50 will be selected by an esteemed panel of judges.

Joe Fattorini 
Presenter, The Wine Show 

Stephanie Macleod
Master Blender, Dewar's 

Christine Parkinson DipWSET
Head of Wine, Hakkasan Group

Ian Harris 
Chief Executive, WSET 

Allen Gibbons

Xavier Rousset MS

Richard Paterson
Master Blender, Whyte & Mackay 

Contact: Future50@IWSC.com

The Sponsors

The Future 50 is brought to you by the Wine & Spirit Education Trust (WSET) and the International Wine & Spirit Competition (IWSC) as part of their respective 50th anniversary celebrations.  

The Future 50 is our way of demonstrating support for those who will be driving forward the top quality standards that have been set across the industry – from brands, to products, to venues – and ensuring that the drinks world continues to innovate and advance. - Allen Gibbons, CEO IWSC

Entry Criteria

• Be under 40 years of age by November 2019

• Be able to demonstrate distinctive achievements in their field within the last three years. These may include but are not limited to:

• Motivating and inspiring others

• Entrepreneurial or technological innovations

• Exceptional educational/academic achievements or contributions

• Overcoming adversity or breaking down barriers

• Outstanding performance in their field


21 March 2019
Nominations close (deadline extended from 14 March)

April 2019
 Shortlisted nominees contacted for further information

October 2019
Winners notified

November 2019 
The Future 50 are announced

Submit a Nomination

Nominations for 
2019 are closed